‘Nightmare Alley,’ ‘No Time to Die’ win art direction award

LOS ANGELES (CNS) — “No Time to Die,” “Nightmare Alley” and “ Dune” were among the big winners at the 26th annual Art Directors Guild’s Excellence in Production Design Awards.

After the COVID-19 pandemic drove last year’s presentations to a virtual format, Saturday’s 2022 edition of the awards show returned to an in-person format at the InterContinental Los Angeles Downtown, complete with a red carpet.

The awards — which honor excellence in production design for theatrical motion pictures, television, commercials, music videos and animated feature films — was hosted by actress Yvette Nicole Brown.

Presenters included Benedict Cumberbatch, Kevin Costner, Marcia Gay Harden, James Pickens Jr., Nikolaj Coster-Waldau, Jeffrey Wright, Harvey Guillen, Alexandra Daddario, Natasha Leggero, Wendi McLendon-Covey, Soleil Moon Frye and Carl Clemon-Hopkins.

The show was live-streamed at www.adgawards26.com.

In special awards:

  • Director/screenwriter/producer Jane Campion, who is nominated for the best director Oscar for “The Power of the Dog,” received the Cinematic Imagery Award for work that has “consistently reflected the highest quality of production design”;
  • Academy Award-nominated “Dune” director Denis Villeneuve received the William Cameron Menzies Award “for his numerous legendary movies” including “Arrival” and “Blade Runner 2049:”
  • Academy Award-winning production designer William A. Horning and pioneering, Oscar-nominated production designer, costume designer, writer and producer Polly Platt were inducted posthumously into the Art Directors Guild Hall of Fame; and
  • production designer Ida Random, graphic designers Michael and Denise Okuda, set designer/art director Ann Harris and concept illustrator and storyboard artist Donna Cline were all presented with Lifetime Achievement Awards.