Luke Bryan wins top ACM Award, but female acts own the night

NEW YORK (AP) — Carrie Underwood introduced the Academy of Nation Audio Awards to church. Maren Morris won two honors, which include music of the year. Miranda Lambert done a few occasions and held on to her report as the most embellished winner in ACM historical past. And Mickey Guyton, the to start with Black woman to host the awards demonstrate, gave a powerful, best-notch vocal efficiency.

Though woman state stars did not contend for the night’s best prize — Luke Bryan was named entertainer of the year — they owned Sunday’s ACM Awards.

What You Need To Know

  • Luke Bryan was named entertainer of the year
  • Carrie Underwood performed music from her the latest gospel hymns album “My Savior,” kicking off the set with “Amazing Grace” and “Great Is Thy Faithfulness.” She was then joined by gospel legend CeCe Winans
  • Mickey Guyton, who gave an all-star performance of “Hold On,” turned the to start with Black females to host the awards display
  • The performances that aired Sunday ended up pre-taped at a variety of areas in Nashville, Tennessee, which include the Grand Ole Opry House, the Ryman Auditorium and The Bluebird Cafe

Underwood’s efficiency stood out the most. She was joined by gospel legend CeCe Winans and the dynamic duo blended their voices like angels onstage. Underwood done tunes from her the latest gospel hymns album “My Savior,” kicking off the established with “Amazing Grace” and “Great Is Thy Faithfulness.” Then Winans joined in, matching her sturdy vocal general performance.

Lambert executed three moments, initial along with rock-pop singer Elle King for a pleasurable, energetic effectiveness of their new duet “Drunk (And I Really do not Wanna Go Dwelling).” Lambert, who started pet shelter nonprofit MuttNation, also carried out along with album of the yr winner Chris Stapleton for “Maggie’s Music,” a tribute to Stapleton’s pet who died 2019. Her last efficiency was with Jack Ingram and Jon Randall.

The performances that aired Sunday had been pre-taped at several destinations in Nashville, Tennessee, including the Grand Ole Opry Home, the Ryman Auditorium and The Bluebird Cafe. Winners, carrying masks, approved awards in serious time in front of compact audiences designed up of healthcare and wellness care workers.

Bryan was established to carry out Sunday but backed out of the display because he just lately examined good for the coronavirus.

“I’m so sorry I could not be there,” he claimed from Los Angeles. “And to all my followers out there and country radio, we miss touring. We have missed staying on the highway with every person that makes me an entertainer. My bus motorists, my band, my crew, what a tough yr. But to all the admirers and every person we will be back out on the street doing what we really like.”

Morris spoke about the taxing calendar year with no stay new music when she won feminine artist of the year.

“Really just joyful to be in a group with women of all ages that ended up not capable to tour this yr, but brought so considerably heat to the game to place music this calendar year. You’ve influenced me so considerably to no end, and even in a yr the place no one’s gotten to engage in exhibits, I have listened to some of the greatest audio out of all of you this past yr. So thank you so substantially for inspiring me,” she claimed.

Collaborating onstage was the topic of the awards demonstrate, and Morris and hubby Ryan Hurd sang alongside one another, ending with a kiss. A teary-eyed Morris won music of the yr for her Grammy-nominated hit “The Bones,” which topped the nation new music charts for months last 12 months.

Morris misplaced single of the 12 months, in which all of the nominated tracks ended up done by woman artists. Carly Pearce and Lee Brice’s platinum duet, “I Hope You are Joyful Now,” received the prize.

“We wrote this song about my story and I guess it resonated with everybody,” Pearce mentioned onstage, also thanking busbee, who developed the tune and died in late 2019. “This is the previous song that my producer worked on.”

Yet another tender second arrived when Blanco Brown introduced Previous Dominion with team of the yr. It marked Brown’s very first public overall look following struggling substantial injuries in a head-on vehicle collision past calendar year.

But the whole three-hour present didn’t go easily. The Grammy-successful duo Dan + Shay carried out their most current strike, “Glad You Exist,” but the pre-taped second aired out of sync.

“Apparently there was an audio/online video sync challenge on the television broadcast,” the duo tweeted. “We’re bummed about it, but it transpires, specifically when performances are happening in various places.”

One more mishap happened when Martina McBride introduced the winner of single of the 12 months. McBride correctly announced “I Hope You are Delighted Now” nevertheless “I Hope” by Gabby Barrett appeared on the Tv set display screen.

Pearce and Brice’s “I Hope You are Delighted Now” also won musical function of the yr, when Barrett was named new female artist of the year. Rhett gained male artist of the calendar year and Jimmie Allen was named new male artist of the year.

All those acts done Sunday, as did Alan Jackson, Girl A, Blake Shelton, Ashley McBryde, Brothers Osborne and Guyton, who gave an all-star performance of “Hold On” all through the clearly show, which she hosted with Keith Urban. She not too long ago experienced her first baby and grew to become the initial Black solo lady nominated for a Grammy in the state group this calendar year.

Small Huge Town also carried out — but as a threesome. The Grammy winners sang “Wine, Beer, Whiskey” devoid of band member Phillip Sweet considering that he lately examined positive for COVID-19.

Sweet and Bryan weren’t the only country stars lacking from the show. Morgan Wallen, whose newest album and singles have uncovered important achievement on both of those the region and pop charts, was declared ineligible by the ACMs soon after he was caught on camera making use of a racial slur before this calendar year.