Eminem, Dolly Parton among 2022 Rock Hall nominees

CLEVELAND — The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announced the nominees for the class of 2022 Wednesday, including a number of notable first timers and few familiar names who have been nominated in recent years.

The class of 2022 nominees include:

  • Beck
  • Pat Benatar
  • Kate Bush
  • DEVO
  • Duran Duran
  • Eminem
  • Eurythmics
  • Judas Priest
  • Fela Kuti
  • MC5
  • New York Dolls
  • Dolly Parton
  • Rage Against The Machine
  • Lionel Richie
  • Carly Simon
  • A Tribe Called Quest
  • Dionne Warwick

“This year’s ballot recognizes a diverse group of incredible artists, each who has had a profound impact on the sound of youth culture”, said John Sykes, chairman of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation. “Their music not only moved generations, but also influenced the sound of countless artists that followed.”

Of the 17 nominees, seven of them are on the ballot for the first time: Beck, Eminem, Duran Duran, Dolly Parton, Lionel Richie, Carly Simon, and A Tribe Called Quest. This is Eminem’s first year of eligibility, which also comes as he’s about to perform at the Super Bowl LVI halftime show next week. 

Inductees are chosen by a committee of more than 1,000 people who vote each year. The committee includes members of the music industry, former inductees and historians. 

In order to be eligible for induction, the artist or band must have released their first commercial recording 25 years before the nomination. Other factors included in the voting process are style and technique, influence on other artists, complete work and depth of career. 

Starting today through April 29, the public can vote on their favorite nominee in an effort to get them inducted. 

The public will select the top five artists, forming a “fans’ ballot” that will be tallied along with other ballots to select the 2022 Inductees.

The list of inductees will be announced May 22, and the induction ceremony will take place this fall. Time, date and location has yet to be determined. 

The Class of 2022 nominees come just a few months after the induction of the Class of 2021, which included: 

  • Foo Fighters
  • The Go-Go’s
  • JAY-Z
  • Carole King
  • Todd Rundgren
  • Tina Turner
  • Clarence Avant received the Ahmet Ertegun Award
  • LL Cool J, Billy Preston and Randy Rhoads received the Musical Excellence Award
  • Kraftwerk, Gil Scott-Heron and Charley Patton received the Early Influence Award