Daytime Emmy Awards to be presented in Pasadena

PASADENA, Calif. (CNS) — NBC’s “Days of Our Lives” will be competing against itself — sort of — when the 2022 Daytime Emmy Awards are presented Friday evening, with the long-running soap competing for best drama series honors with a streaming spinoff.

“Days of Our Lives” is nominated for outstanding daytime drama series, as is “Days of Our Lives: Beyond Salem,” an offshoot shown on the NBC streaming channel Peacock. Also vying for the top prize will be CBS’ “The Young and the Restless” and “The Bold and the Beautiful” and ABC’s “General Hospital.”

Marci Miller and Arianne Zucker of “Days of Our Lives” are both nominated for best actress in a daytime drama, along with Cynthia Watros and Laura Wright of “General Hospital” and Mishael Morgan of “The Young and the Restless.”

Competing for best actor in a daytime drama are Peter Bergman and Jason Thompson of “The Young and the Restless,” Eric Martsolf and James Reynolds of “Days of Our Lives” and John McCook of “The Bold and the Beautiful.”

Pat Sajak is nominated twice in the outstanding game show host category, for his work on “Wheel of Fortune” and “Celebrity Wheel of Fortune.” Also nominated are Wayne Brady for “Let’s Make a Deal,” Steve Harvey for “Family Feud” and Leah Remini for “People Puzzler.”

“Wheel of Fortune,” “Let’s Make a Deal” and “Family Feud” are all nominated for outstanding game show, along with “Jeopardy!” and “The Price is Right.”

Friday’s event at the Pasadena Civic Auditorium will mark a return to an in-person ceremony after two years of interruptions because of the COVID-19 pandemic. Kevin Frazier and Nischelle Turner of “Entertainment Tonight” are scheduled to host the event.

During the show, John Aniston — father of Jennifer Aniston — will receive a lifetime achievement award recognizing his nearly four-decade run on “Days of Our Lives.”

The bulk of the Daytime Emmy honors were presented last week during the Creative Arts & Lifestyle Ceremony.

“The Kelly Clarkson Show” topped the winners in that event, earning five statuettes. Netflix’s documentary series “Penguin Town” took home three awards.