American Society of Cinematographers Awards on tap

LOS ANGELES (CNS) — The American Society of Cinematographers is ready for its close-up Sunday evening.

That’s when the ASC’s 36th annual awards show will be held — with “The Tragedy of Macbeth,” “Dune,” “Nightmare Alley,” “The Power of the Dog” and “Belfast” in contention for the top prize in the feature film category.

Winners will be announced during a hybrid ceremony originating from the ASC Clubhouse in Hollywood that will be live-streamed, starting at 6:30 p.m.

Awards will also be handed out in the documentary and television cinematography categories, as well as for the ASC’s Spotlight Award, which recognizes exceptional cinematography in independent, foreign or art-house-type films.

Last year’s ASC feature film winner — Erik Messerschmidt, for “Mank” — went on to win the Oscar for cinematography.

Four special awards will also be handed out — including one to Ellen Kuras, the first woman to receive the ASC’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

Kuras, an Academy Award nominee best known for her work on 2004’s “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind” and 2001’s “Blow,” will join Peter Levy, John Lindley and Dan Sasaki in receiving the special accolades.

Levy will be presented with the Career Achievement in Television Award; Lindley will get the President’s Award; and Sasaki, an engineer at Panavision, will receive the inaugural Curtis Clark Technical Achievement Award, given to an individual who has made significant technological contributions to the art and craft of cinematography.