ACL hosts 2022 hall of fame induction and celebration

AUSTIN, Texas — Thursday night, Austin PBS’s biggest event of the season returned: the Austin City Limits Hall of Fame Induction and Celebration. The event featured many all-star guests, as well as performances by the inductees, Sheryl Crow and Joe Ely.

Six-time Grammy Award winner Brandi Carlile inducted nine-time Grammy Award winner Sheryl Crow into the ACL Hall of Fame. Crow, upon getting inducted, performed alongside Brandi Carlile, Jason Isbell, Lucius and Brittney Spencer.

Joe Ely was inducted by Pulitzer Prize-winning author Lawrence Wright. Ely’s longtime Texas collaborators and songwriters — The Flatlanders, Jimmie Dale Gilmore and Butch Hancock — all paid tribute to the inductee. Joining in on the tribute to Ely were Rodney Crowell and Marcia Ball.

Happy to stand among these Texas music giants. Honored to induct Joe Ely tomorrow into the ACL hall of fame. Joined by Marcia Ball, Butch Hancock and Jimmie Dale Gilmore.

— Lawrence Wright (@lawrence_wright) October 26, 2022

This is the eighth year that Austin City Limits celebrated and honored the legacy of incredible artists and key musicians who have played a role in the music series’ nearly half a century as a music institution.